Announcements

Change in Prerequisite Requirements in Economics for Majors and Minors

To All Economics Majors and Minors:

This message is to alert you to a change in requirements concerning grades in prerequisite courses for core and elective courses in economics. The new rule is that a grade of C or better is required in each prerequisite course in order for it to satisfy the prerequisite requirement.

Students will no longer be able to add courses to their schedule that require prerequisites of "C" or higher if they have a grade of "D" in any of the pre-requisites for the course. Students will need to repeat "D" grades and earn a minimum grade of "C" in each prerequisite prior to taking these courses.

Here are a few examples:

minimum grades of "C" in 220:102, 103 and Calculus I are necessary to enroll in Intermediate Macroeconomics 220:321
minimum grades of "C" in 220:102, 103, Calculus I and Stats are necessary to enroll in Econometrics 220:322
minimum grades of "C" in 220:320 and 322 are necessary to enroll in courses such as Labor Economics 220:302, Financial Economics 220:393, etc.

Upcoming Events

Wed Mar 04 @ 4:30PM - 05:45PM
Special Event Seminar
William Gale, Arjay and Frances Miller Chair in Federal Economic Policy, Brookings Institution
Thu Mar 05 @ 4:00PM - 05:30PM
Econometrics
Whitney Newey, MIT
Fri Mar 06 @ 2:00PM - 03:30PM
Empirical Microeconomics
Subha Mani, Fordham University
Tue Mar 10 @ 2:50PM - 04:10PM
Macroeconomic Theory
Corina Boar, New York University
Mon Mar 23 @ 2:30PM - 04:00PM
Money, History and Finance
Pete Veru, University of Washington
Tue Mar 24 @ 2:50PM - 04:10PM
Macroeconomic Theory
Pei Chung Yu, UNSW Business School
Thu Mar 26 @ 4:00PM - 05:30PM
Econometrics
Andrei Zeleneev, Princeton University
Fri Mar 27 @ 2:00PM - 03:30PM
Empirical Microeconomics
Mark McGovern, Rutgers University, School of Public Health
Thu Apr 02 @ 4:00PM - 05:30PM
Econometrics
Tim Armstrong, Yale University
Mon Apr 06 @ 2:30PM - 04:00PM
Money, History and Finance
Matthew Botsch, Bowdoin College
Wed Apr 08 @ 2:45PM - 04:15PM
Micro Theory/Experimental Seminar
R Vijay Krishna, Florida State University