Calendar

Events Calendar

Econometrics Workshop, Nese Yildiz, University of Rochester

Econometrics

Thursday, March 30, 2017, 04:00pm - 05:30pm

Nese Yildiz, University of Rochester
"Identification and Estimation of a Triangular Model with Multiple Endogenous Variables and Insufficiently Many Instrumental Variables"

Abstract: We develop a novel identification method for a partially linear model with multiple endogenous variables of interest but a single instrumental variable, which could even be binary. We present an easy-to-implement consistent estimator for the parametric part. This estimator retains √ n-convergence rate and asymptotic normality even though we have a generated regressor in our setup. The nonparametric part of the model is also identified. We also outline how our identification strategy can be extended to a fully non-parametric model. We use our methods to assess the impact of smoking during pregnancy on birth weight.

Location  NJ Hall 3rd Floor Library
Contact  Roger Klein

Upcoming Events

Wed Mar 04 @ 4:30PM - 05:45PM
Special Event Seminar
William Gale, Arjay and Frances Miller Chair in Federal Economic Policy, Brookings Institution
Thu Mar 05 @ 4:00PM - 05:30PM
Econometrics
Whitney Newey, MIT
Fri Mar 06 @ 2:00PM - 03:30PM
Empirical Microeconomics
Subha Mani, Fordham University
Tue Mar 10 @ 2:50PM - 04:10PM
Macroeconomic Theory
Corina Boar, New York University
Mon Mar 23 @ 2:30PM - 04:00PM
Money, History and Finance
Pete Veru, University of Washington
Tue Mar 24 @ 2:50PM - 04:10PM
Macroeconomic Theory
Pei Chung Yu, UNSW Business School
Thu Mar 26 @ 4:00PM - 05:30PM
Econometrics
Andrei Zeleneev, Princeton University
Fri Mar 27 @ 2:00PM - 03:30PM
Empirical Microeconomics
Mark McGovern, Rutgers University, School of Public Health
Thu Apr 02 @ 4:00PM - 05:30PM
Econometrics
Tim Armstrong, Yale University
Mon Apr 06 @ 2:30PM - 04:00PM
Money, History and Finance
Matthew Botsch, Bowdoin College
Wed Apr 08 @ 2:45PM - 04:15PM
Micro Theory/Experimental Seminar
R Vijay Krishna, Florida State University