Calendar

Events Calendar

Econometrics Workshop speaker Konrad Menzel, New York University

Econometrics

Thursday, April 27, 2017, 04:00pm - 05:30pm

Konrad Menzel, New York University
  "STRATEGIC NETWORK FORMATION WITH MANY AGENTS"

Abstract: We consider a random utility model of strategic network formation, where we derive a tractable approximation to the distribution of network links using many-player asymptotics. Our framework assumes that agents have heterogeneous tastes over links, and allows for anonymous and non-anonymous interaction effects among links. The observed network is assumed to be pairwise stable, and we impose no restrictions regarding selection among multiple stable outcomes. Our main results concern convergence of the link frequency distribution from finite pairwise stable networks to the (many-player) limiting distribution. The set of possible limiting distributions is shown to have a fairly simple form and is characterized through aggregate equilibrium conditions, which may permit multiple solutions. We analyze identification of link preferences and propose a method for estimation of preference parameters. We also derive an analytical expression for agents’ welfare (expected surplus) from the structure of the network.

Location  NJ Hall 3rd Floor Library
Contact  Roger Klein

Upcoming Events

Wed Mar 04 @ 4:30PM - 05:45PM
Special Event Seminar
William Gale, Arjay and Frances Miller Chair in Federal Economic Policy, Brookings Institution
Thu Mar 05 @ 4:00PM - 05:30PM
Econometrics
Whitney Newey, MIT
Fri Mar 06 @ 2:00PM - 03:30PM
Empirical Microeconomics
Subha Mani, Fordham University
Tue Mar 10 @ 2:50PM - 04:10PM
Macroeconomic Theory
Corina Boar, New York University
Mon Mar 23 @ 2:30PM - 04:00PM
Money, History and Finance
Pete Veru, University of Washington
Tue Mar 24 @ 2:50PM - 04:10PM
Macroeconomic Theory
Pei Chung Yu, UNSW Business School
Thu Mar 26 @ 4:00PM - 05:30PM
Econometrics
Andrei Zeleneev, Princeton University
Fri Mar 27 @ 2:00PM - 03:30PM
Empirical Microeconomics
Mark McGovern, Rutgers University, School of Public Health
Thu Apr 02 @ 4:00PM - 05:30PM
Econometrics
Tim Armstrong, Yale University
Mon Apr 06 @ 2:30PM - 04:00PM
Money, History and Finance
Matthew Botsch, Bowdoin College
Wed Apr 08 @ 2:45PM - 04:15PM
Micro Theory/Experimental Seminar
R Vijay Krishna, Florida State University