Calendar

Events Calendar

Econometrics Workshop, Simon Lee, Columbia University

Econometrics

Friday, November 03, 2017, 04:00pm - 05:30pm

Simon Lee, Columbia University (*Note change in day - Friday)

"IDENTIFYING THE EFFECT OF PERSUASION"  with Sung Jae Jun

Abstract: In this paper, we set up an econometric model of persuasion, point out the key parameters of interest, and study identification of these parameters. We employ the potential outcome framework to define the persuasion rate and characterize identification of the impacts of persuasion under various data scenarios. We illustrate our findings by applying them to two strands of the literature: the effects of media on voting and door-to-door fund raising. Our empirical results show that the heterogeneous effect of persuasion is ubiquitous among all of our applications and that the estimates of the persuasive effects can be compared across different studies under weak conditions on underlying economic and econometric models.

Location  NJ Hall 3rd Floor Library
Contact  Roger Klein

Upcoming Events

Mon Oct 03 @ 2:30PM - 04:00PM
Money, History and Finance
Jonathan Payne, Princeton University
Tue Oct 04 @ 3:00PM - 04:30PM
Macroeconomic Theory
David Schoenherr, Princeton University
Fri Oct 07 @ 1:30PM - 03:00PM
Empirical Microeconomics
Natalia D’Agosti, Rutgers University
Thu Oct 13 @ 4:00PM - 05:30PM
Econometrics
Konrad Menzel, New York University
Fri Oct 14 @ 1:30PM - 03:00PM
Empirical Microeconomics
Alexandra Spitz-Oener, Humboldt University
Mon Oct 17 @ 2:30PM - 04:00PM
Money, History and Finance
Peter Conti-Brown, Wharton School at the University of Pennsylvania
Fri Oct 21 @ 1:30PM - 03:00PM
Empirical Microeconomics
Bin Xie, Jinan University
Tue Oct 25 @ 3:00PM - 04:30PM
Macroeconomic Theory
Gaston Navarro, Federal Reserve Board
Fri Oct 28 @ 1:30PM - 03:00PM
Empirical Microeconomics
Brittany Street, University of Missouri
Thu Nov 03 @ 4:00PM - 05:30PM
Econometrics
Ashesh Rambachan, Microsoft Research/MIT
Fri Nov 04 @ 1:30PM - 03:00PM
Empirical Microeconomics
Michele Pellizzari, University of Geneva
Mon Nov 07 @ 2:30PM - 04:00PM
Money, History and Finance
Juan Antolin Diaz, London Business School
Thu Nov 10 @ 4:00PM - 05:30PM
Econometrics
Bo Honore, Princeton University
Fri Nov 11 @ 1:30PM - 03:00PM
Empirical Microeconomics
Silvia Prina, Northeastern University
Mon Nov 14 @ 2:30PM - 04:00PM
Money, History and Finance
Stephen Redding, Princeton University