Calendar

Events Calendar

Jia Li, Duke University

Econometrics

Thursday, April 25, 2019, 04:00pm - 05:30pm

Jia Li, Duke University

"Measuring China’s stock market sentiment"

Abstract: This paper develops textual sentiment measures for China’s stock market by extracting the textual tone of 60 million messages posted on a major online investor forum in China from 2008 to 2018. We conduct sentiment extraction by using both conventional dictionary methods based on customized word lists and supervised machine-learning methods (support vector machine and convolutional neural network). The market-level textual sentiment index is constructed as the average of message-level sentiment scores, and the textual disagreement index is constructed as their dispersion. These textual measures allow us to test a range of predictions of classical behavioral asset-pricing models within a unified empirical setting. We find that textual sentiment can significantly predict market return, exhibiting a salient underreaction-overreaction pattern on a time scale of several months. This effect is more pronounced for small and growth stocks, and is stronger under higher investor attention and during more volatile periods. We also find that textual sentiment exerts a significant and asymmetric impact on future volatility. Finally, we show that trading volume will be higher when textual sentiment is unusually high or low and when there are more differences of opinion, as measured by our textual disagreement. Based on a massive textual dataset, our analysis provides support for the noise-trading theory and the limits-to-arbitrage argument, as well as predictions from limited-attention and disagreement models.
Location  NJ Hall 3rd Floor Library
Contact  Yuan Liao

Upcoming Events

Mon Oct 03 @ 2:30PM - 04:00PM
Money, History and Finance
Jonathan Payne, Princeton University
Tue Oct 04 @ 3:00PM - 04:30PM
Macroeconomic Theory
David Schoenherr, Princeton University
Fri Oct 07 @ 1:30PM - 03:00PM
Empirical Microeconomics
Natalia D’Agosti, Rutgers University
Thu Oct 13 @ 4:00PM - 05:30PM
Econometrics
Konrad Menzel, New York University
Fri Oct 14 @ 1:30PM - 03:00PM
Empirical Microeconomics
Alexandra Spitz-Oener, Humboldt University
Mon Oct 17 @ 2:30PM - 04:00PM
Money, History and Finance
Peter Conti-Brown, Wharton School at the University of Pennsylvania
Fri Oct 21 @ 1:30PM - 03:00PM
Empirical Microeconomics
Bin Xie, Jinan University
Tue Oct 25 @ 3:00PM - 04:30PM
Macroeconomic Theory
Gaston Navarro, Federal Reserve Board
Fri Oct 28 @ 1:30PM - 03:00PM
Empirical Microeconomics
Brittany Street, University of Missouri
Thu Nov 03 @ 4:00PM - 05:30PM
Econometrics
Ashesh Rambachan, Microsoft Research/MIT
Fri Nov 04 @ 1:30PM - 03:00PM
Empirical Microeconomics
Michele Pellizzari, University of Geneva
Mon Nov 07 @ 2:30PM - 04:00PM
Money, History and Finance
Juan Antolin Diaz, London Business School
Thu Nov 10 @ 4:00PM - 05:30PM
Econometrics
Bo Honore, Princeton University
Fri Nov 11 @ 1:30PM - 03:00PM
Empirical Microeconomics
Silvia Prina, Northeastern University
Mon Nov 14 @ 2:30PM - 04:00PM
Money, History and Finance
Stephen Redding, Princeton University