The International Honor Society for Economics
Theta Chapter - Rutgers University

Membership is open to all students who have a demonstrated interest and achievement in economics at Rutgers New Brunswick, regardless of major.

Applicants must have completed at least 4 economics (220) courses at Rutgers New Brunswick (transfer courses cannot be used) with an overall GPA of at least 3.5 and at least a 3.5 GPA in economics courses taken at Rutgers NB up to the date of application.

To Apply: fill out the online application form- UNDER CONSTRUCTION.

You will receive an acceptance email within a few weeks (or less). Membership is only available to current Rutgers New Brunswick undergraduate and graduate students.

In some cases, for students who do not yet meet all the requirements, interim membership is available.

Background: ODE is one of the largest academic honor societies in the world, dating back to 1915. The Theta chapter at Rutgers University in New Brunswick was chartered in 1969. In addition to fostering closer ties between students and faculty and enriching and expanding its members’ knowledge of economics, ODE also provides international recognition of outstanding academic achievement in economics, awards a number of prizes for outstanding contributions, and provides opportunities to present papers at annual meetings and publish in The American Economist, the Journal of Omicron Delta Epsilon.

Faculty ODE Advisor: Professor Barry Sopher
Assistant ODE Coordinator: Mackenzie Huston

Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

RECONS, the Rutgers Economics Society